South Main Gate
The main approach to the Horyuji Temple complex is a broad avenue of majestic pine trees leading up to this elegant eight-pillar gate. This gate was once situated near the Middle Gate but was moved when the temple was expanded. Fire destroyed the original structure in 1435, but it was rebuilt shortly afterwards in 1438. Unique architectural features of the gate include flower-shaped decorative bracket arms and the carved end-nosings of the head rail.